I really don’t enjoy writing. It’s just something that I have never particularly liked doing. I think one of the reasons why I don’t enjoy writing is because of the formality that comes with writing. I like writing in a more conversational way rather than in a strict format, because even though my writing may not be as structured, I am able to get my point across in a clearer way. Because I never enjoyed writing in a professional manner, my writing skills weren’t as developed so I would avoid writing at all costs. With blogging becoming a popular trend as of late, I think that we (especially high school and college students) should capitalize on this and get involved in blogging. Because blogging is informal and conversational, it is easy to get involved and write. If blogging will get young adults to write (about anything) it will get them thinking and reflecting, not just on their own ideas, but other people’s thoughts and ideas as well. I also think that the ability to comment on other people’s posts and agree/disagree/debate them is a great tool to get people to really think critically and expand their thought horizons.

One site online mentions philosophy blogging and how it can be useful in an academic setting. The author describes philosophy blogging as “exploring and writing up ideas that I would otherwise never get around to.” I think this can be extremely important and applicable in a college setting because you get the students excited and enthused to write about something that they never have before. College is the time to fully explore and act on all of our thoughts and ideas, and blogging (both reading and writing) makes us aware of what everyone around us is saying.

Some feel that blogging is informal and a waste of time, but I disagree. Blogging gets people reading, writing, thinking and reflecting. If we have these thoughts but they aren’t written down, are they really valuable? No. We need to have our thoughts and ideas documented in some form and blogging makes that possible. Blog on and share your thoughts. Comment on other people’s blogs. Defend your thoughts and criticize ideas that you don’t believe in. I think our generation in particular can benefit from this form of interaction.

9 responses »

  1. Claire McCardell says:

    I agree that blogging is a very effective means of discussing ideas and defending/criticizing other’s ideas. I think that perhaps the most valuable feature of blogging in an academic setting is being able to read your classmate’s thoughts, which in turn can prompt further ideas that you otherwise wouldn’t have thought of. I know I have gained deeper insights in reading classmates blog posts for past classes, which helped me think of materials in new ways. I also agree that blogging helps one in developing their skills to defend their own ideas and strengthen their arguments.

  2. Connie says:

    I really like this idea of “philosophy blogging” that you included in your entry. In college, we are most likely focusing on and studying more fundamental, major-related ideas, and rarely have the time to explore these other topics that we could be interested in. I feel as if this type of blogging can be a sort of intellectual release for college students to be able to engage in something that they enjoy doing. As a result, I believe that this will help students shape their identities, and make us more well-rounded because we’d be discovering aspects of ourselves that we might not normally be able to do without philosophy blogging.

  3. pbm043 says:

    In my own post about blogging, I was particularly harsh on the subject of poor/amateur writers bombarding the internet with useless or unstructured blog posts. What I failed to take into account, which Hannah’s post alerted me to, was that blogging can be just as useful a tool for an amateur to build writing skills as it is for a professional to spread academia. Obviously, the only way to become a better writer is to keep at it. I’m sure that the most important factor to me achieving what little success I have had in writing came from my mom pushing me to write more clearly, broaden my vocabulary, etc. I fully agree with Hannah that blogs might be a perfect tool to encourage people to write who otherwise wouldn’t.

  4. lcs024 says:

    I think it is a really good point that you brought up that blogging can result in an increase in writing. This can also lead to students becoming more enthusiastic about writing as opposed to the typical exasperated reaction when the due date for a formal paper is announced. It is definitely true that a major part of academia is about discussing ideas and building off of one another’s thoughts and blogging is definitely an excellent mechanism for completing such tasks. Once you get pulled into a blog, like you said, it gets you thinking and reflecting on various ideas which sometimes fails to happen in the classroom setting when students are zoning out and not paying attention. The blog therefore has the potential to engage students in a venue that they are very comfortable with and excited about.

  5. Jordi says:

    I like your writing in this blog.

    One can be clear AND conversational. One can also be very structured AND engaging. Although you are right, very structured can also squelch engaging.

    I look forward to looking at your philosophy blog.

    One aspect I like about blogging is that it reminds me of earlier time,s especially the Victorian period, when letter writing was a great art. People, especially educated, middle and upper class people, had more free time but none of the mediascape leisures we had. Imagine- they are just as social as your most fat-thumbed twitter geek- but they had to write on paper. So, blogging, good blogging, in a way reaches back to our roots as writers and readers. Those are the basis of thinking, even if you do move on to other media.

  6. Jordi says:

    Good title too. Alliterative.

  7. manderson12 says:

    I too have never enjoyed writing. Editing my writing is even more annoying, which is why I rarely do it. I agree with your main point that blogging is very informal, yet effective. Blogging allows those who do not care for formal writing to express their thoughts on matters, even if it does stink like a month old hard-boiled egg found under a porch. This form of writing is very similar to the discussions/debates we would have in class, so it is a great way to continue them while still feeling comfortable to talk informally. I do, however, believe your statement that thoughts aren’t valuable if they are not written down was a little too extreme. But yes, blogging is another great way to capture intellectual thinking. You can find information about any topic on blogs these days. Whether they are accurate or not is another question.

  8. Zach says:

    Language has many purposes. It can be beautiful or eloquent, like in a great poem, or an educated thesis. But at it’s core, language is simply a tool. It is a means to communicate. I definitely see how the formality of writing in school could deter individuals from doing it more often. I mean, my eyes certainly don’t light up when I see a 10 page paper assigned. In this sense, the amateur and less formal environment that the blogging platform as a whole provides is great. Ultimately, while it might sound nicer if one uses certain words or writes in a certain why, what is truly important is the idea that those words convey.

  9. […] (Stanford Encyclopedia on “Business Ethics”) The Best Title and Most Honest Award goes to Hannah (Beneficial Blogging) The Great Writing and Word Choice goes to Connie (The Blogosphere in the […]

Leave a Reply

