The rise of blogging, along with other social media, has been incredibly pronounced in the past 5 years. Through blogs, normal, everyday citizens have gotten the opportunity to spread their opinions and thoughts to millions across the world. With such a rapidly growing technology, it is only natural that it would begin to be integrated into schools, especially colleges. The positives of this are numerous. First, it allows a professor and their class to continue and open-ended discussion outside of class hours. Prior to blogging, if a professor wanted a group discussion, it had to happen during class. In connection with this, blogging has made it much easier to communicate with others that share your interests. In schools, that would be people in your class. In the real world, it means those that share your political views or are fans of the same team. I’ve been involved in blogging of some sort since I was in high school, mostly through various sports blogs for my teams. However, this is only the 2nd class that I have blogged for in my life – both of which were taught by Jordi. That tells me that while blogging may be the technology of the future in schools, it’s not there yet. Only one professor in four years has utilized it.

There are, however, some possible negative consequences of blogging in schools. Primarily, it could put some students in an awkward position of having private thoughts read. I’m sure all of us have been in a position where we would’ve been embarrassed if anyone but our teacher saw what we wrote about a subject. But since only the teacher was reading it, we felt fine with putting it to paper and answering the question as well as we could. I worry that, with this privacy going away in a blog, students may be less personal and less expressive in their blog posts, and that an opinion won’t be fully expressed as it would be if it were just for the teachers’ eyes. Additionally, in direct contrast with a positive consequence, is the total dependance of our generation on social media and tools. If we’re losing class discussion time to blogging, then we’re losing even more of the little time that we spend communicating face to face. I know that my parents have expressed concerns over the lack of communication skill of our generation – not at me personally, but at the general impression that our age group makes.

Overall, however, the pros of classroom blogging far outweigh the cons. I believe that students will learn not to be embarrassed about their opinions, and it will be on the professor to ensure that everyone’s opinions are respected. And it’s the professors that will determine if this technology will succeed in schools, because most, if not all of the cons are preventable. I think we will see blogging in schools increase dramatically in the next 5-10 years.

3 responses »

  1. manderson12 says:

    I liked your point how students’ will be less personal and less expressive in their blog posts once their privacy goes away. When people blog for fun in their spare time, the readers do not actually know who is writing the blogs. This secrecy gives the bloggers the freedom to express their feelings freely. Although people sometimes abuse that privacy inappropriately, it does however invite honest feedback to their posts. This is an interesting negative to blogging that I did not mention in my post on blogging in education. This difference between educational blogging and casual blogging may hold people back from saying something that they would like to say, but it is necessary to keep the process professional.

  2. Jordi says:

    I didn’t use a blog in Six Degrees. Did I? Not like this…

  3. Jordi says:

    I loved my middle school English teachers. Their requirement that we write journals that they read and commented on gave me that kind of one-on-one relationship with adults that made me feel like I had something worth saying. I was not a happy or even academically successful kid then, so I relate to what you are saying.

    However, in your papers, or even in an email, if you, or a student, wanted to convey some thoughts to me, that option is there. True, I am not requiring it, so the “good” of that may not be visible be to students like it is when something is required but positive. Still, private written communication can exist.

    My experience with blogging for four years or so now is that I know much BETTER how each of my students thinks than I do with other assignments.

Leave a Reply

