If you take a look around yourself, you’ll find that either the computer or the cell phone is only an arms length away. It’s true, and I am victim of it too. But can we truly blame ourselves for becoming a generation that has placed such an emphases on modern technology and its dependence?  It’s very difficult to escape this world for only a few brief moments, as it would require us to go into pure solitude (which would be considered weird by our today’s standards). Just image, a person not having access to a cell phone or a computer, that’s unheard of these days. That’s why for my voyage I would like to take this opportunity to go back to the days where modern technology didn’t exist, and the world was a little less complex. Are they eighteen hundreds or the seventeen hundred going to far back? No! I want to go back even further, all the way to the days of hunting gathering, where the nomads roamed the surfaces of the Earth. Everyone has seen Bear Grills throw himself into the wilderness and survive purely on his wits, and the resources around him. And each time I see him I wonder, how difficult could it really be?

We would be allowed to bring only one item with us from the modern world. Without a doubt it would be a knife because without it, I think my chances of survival would very small. A gun you would think would be a good weapon to bring with you, but that would only last until the six or ten bullets ran out. I can’t imagine taking anything else but a knife, then again who knows, maybe there are a few weapons that would be worthy of consideration.

The first few days of my nomadic lifestyle would probably prove to be the most challenging because survival without food could only last me for so long. One my fist tasks would be to construct some sort of a hunting weapon, probably a spear. If lucky, and I would able to find some string (tree bark) and construct a bow with of it, which could prove more efficient than the spear. Finding an appropriate arrow tip might be where I run into trouble, especially that it would need to be sharpened to the point where it could penetrate an animal’s skin. I know that by this point I am starting to sound very barbaric, but if you think about it, every time you have a piece of stake or chicken (unless you are vegetarian) it might not be you who’s doing the killing, but someone is responsible for that animal’s death. Anyways, once I have prepared my hunting equipment, the next few days would be spent tracking animals.

The part that would get annoying really quickly would be having to construct a place to sleep every night. The idea seems simple, just flop down on the ground and sleep wherever I wanted. I mean I could technically do that, but I would have to be very lucky to not run into any animals passing by. I would have to build some sort of a tree fort every night just to be safe from the wild.

Probably the biggest change that I would have to get used to is living from sun up to sun down. We really don’t think about it, but a good portion of our day continues on past sundown thanks to the inventions of electricity and the light bulb, but that couldn’t be the case in the wild. The more I think about this plan of mine, the more I am beginning to realize why Bear Grylls is simply a show and that the most time he will ever spend in the clutches of the wild is for a few days. I think the idea in retrospect would be cool, but when it comes to survival, it would be tougher than anticipated. Maybe we should just stick to our Iphones and Blackberrys and be thankful to those who had to live through those times to get us to where we are right now.

 

6 responses »

  1. Jordi says:

    Here you go:
    http://www.hollowtop.com/journals/Stone_Age_Immersion.htm

    I’m up for it too. Sounds amazing. Bucknell in Stone Age… next study abroad. I’m really not kidding. The management side could focus on small group dynamics like leadership, followership, improvisation.

    You’ll get to bring the following:
    10 lbs dried wild harvested foods (including plant and animal foods and one pint of rendered fat)
    bow and 6+ arrows OR
    fishing line and 4+ bone hooks and 4+ snare and deadfall trigger systems
    pack basket or hide backpack
    medium-sized clay cooking pot
    full set of buckskin clothing, including long-sleeved over garment
    moccasins
    buffalo robe, fur blanket, or felt blanket
    basic primitive tool kit, including a stone knife, bone awl, pitch glue, sinew, quick blades or chert/obsidian core

    • Alex Lin says:

      When I was driving back to Bucknell, my friend and I had a conversation about living in the woods (brought up by the scenic view of I-80). We considered what we would eat, where we would live, and how we would survive. Like Tomas, we also considered which one important item we would bring with us. For me, an ax or hatchet would be the most crucial item for survival. Not only can I use it to hunt and protect myself, but I would also be able to use it to cut wood. From there, shelter and tools could be made.

  2. Mike says:

    Tomas, I like you…but you’re crazy. I do enjoy going camping for a day or two in the woods, but by the end of the trip I can’t wait to get home. I had fun building a fire, sleeping in the woods, fishing, etc., but on my hike home, all I can think about is a long hot shower with a substantial meal. I prefer an iPhone to a hatchet, but that’s just me.

  3. Paul Martin says:

    I’m surprised no one mentioned it, but also check out the book “Hatchet” by Gary Paulson.
    http://www.amazon.com/Hatchet-Gary-Paulsen/dp/1416936475

  4. […] Most likely to lead to failure goes to Tomas for If Bear Grylls Can Do It, So Can I […]

Leave a Reply

