Those that are even merely religious will testify the “horror stories” of Hell.  It is a deep pit of fire where all of the sinners go and live in damnation for eternity.  We have grown up fearing Hell and try our utmost best throughout life to avoid sin and to be sent to Heaven.  Well, as the wise Billy Joel once said, “I’d rather laugh with the sinners than cry with the saints, the sinners have much more fun.”

Therefore, for this weeks blog, I would like to discuss my desire to visit Hell.  No, I don’t wish to end up there myself but could you imagine all of the people that have ended up in Hell?  There is the obvious debacle and question of which people ended up in Hell.  Did Michael Jackson really make it through the pearly white gates of heaven or is he now sitting back with Satin in the great depths of fire?  Personally, I would be amazed to see the ins and outs of apparently “the most horrifying place imaginable.”

Some of you may ask why I wouldn’t want to visit Heaven.  I can only assume that the scenery is much more beautiful and the people are much more respectable.  Furthermore, you would be able to see loved ones that you have lost due to old age, illnesses, accidents etc.  Well, I am going to keep my fingers crossed and go off of the assumption that I will make it into Heaven some day and I will get to be able to spend the rest of eternity with loved ones.  So why not do something rebellious and get a quick glimpse of the total other end of the spectrum?  Why not visit Hell?  We only hear about Heaven and Hell from books such as the bible.  So why not take this opportunity to see for ourselves what the truth really is?  At the very least my trip to Hell will be so horrific that it will scare the pants off me to never do anything wrong again so I don’t end up there.  Personally, I think that there could be some humor to my trip to Hell. Think of all those martyrs and people we viewed as heroes that have come to pass.  How absurd would it be to take a trip to Hell and see that President Lincoln or Princess Diana has ended up there?  Furthermore, can you imagine getting the opportunity to talk to the most feared ‘person’ ever…Satan himself?  The questions I would have for him are endless.

So maybe it would be a little morbid to visit Hell…it certainly isn’t a dream vacation to Hawaii or Bora Bora.  But what the Hell (pun intended) if you get the opportunity to visit a place anywhere in the universe just once, you might as well take advantage of it.

*For the record, this post was meant to be entirely humorous!  I am not personally very religious so I hope it doesn’t offend anyone!

14 responses »

  1. Jordi says:

    Satin? The evil demon of fake fabrics?

    SATAN. 😉

  2. Jordi says:

    Wow. That is some, um, wish. Do you really think it exists? Just curious… If it is really the most awful place imaginable, I don’t know, could you even experience it? Maybe it is like infinity or very large numbers. We only sort of can get it…

    By the way, Pope John Paul II states in 1999 that Hell is not really a literal place, but more of a state of mind.

    “A lengthy editorial published two weeks ago with Vatican approval in the authoritative Jesuit journal Civilta Cattolica also dealt with the theological concept of hell.

    “Hell exists, not as a place but as a state, a way of being of the person who suffers the pain of the deprivation of God,” read the editorial in the journal. “

  3. Sarah says:

    When I first started reading this post I was a little shocked and taken aback. But as I read on about your reasoning I started to agree with you about wanting to visit Hell. I think it would be really interesting to see who ended up in Hell and, by process of elimination, who ended up in Heaven. Did all the people we idolized as saints, like Mother Theresa, end up in Heaven, or did they have some unknown horrible secrets that brought them to Hell? Talking with Satin would also prove to be very interesting, as well as a potentially frightening experience. He could be the scary sinner we have all heard about or perhaps he has been completely misunderstood and is actually a really nice guy who just happens to be in charge of all the bad people. No one really knows because no one has come back from Hell to tell us all about it. Maybe things are a lot different than what we have been told and some of the people there are not who we would have suspected.

  4. Tomas Smaliorius says:

    I would have to say that Heaven is probably a very boring place. Not that there is anything wrong with that, but sometimes things are not always as fun when things unfold in a perfect fairy tale. Times of struggle, and difficulty make us appreciate what we have or how we have gotten to the place we are right now. If people always received what they wanted the first time around, the value of those items would be lost in the process. Kind of going off in an another direction, but for some reason I cannot help, and consider hell to be a bully orientated type of environment, where the new comers become enslaved to some of the older, more mischievous individuals. This process would continue on until the newcomers through time proved themselves capable of being acceptable bullies themselves. I understand that not every person who makes it to hell has these same bully personalities, but the people who are most deserving of going to hell in a way acted as bullies in the real world, i.e: Hitler, Mussolini, Bin Laden, etc. You might say that this list only includes the very extreme characters, but they were the best bullies and I am sure their personalities wouldn’t change that much just because they got stuck in hell than heaven.

  5. Kate says:

    If I had the chance to visit Hell before dying, I would most certainly seize that opportunity. Coming from a Catholic background, I have gone to church every Sunday and hear my Priest lecture about how we should follow the word of God and not follow Satan (unless we want to end up in Hell for the rest of eternity).

    Now, what if Hell is not that bad? Or, as would Jordi asked earlier, does it literally exist? Maybe we are just being scared into believing that it exists so we are still “good” and “moral” people. I would love to have a conversation with Satan (red and with his devilish horns of course) and ask why he loves to do “evil” things.

    Now, if Hell did not exist, would I live my life differently? I am not entirely sure. If you not being sent to a fiery pit to be damned for the rest of eternity, would you think twice about doing the “right” thing?

  6. I think the idea of going to see who has made it there carries some weight. We would find out if wrongly convicted people weren’t there and if people who beat the system were. Many people who have “near-death” or “out of body” experience come back to describe the peace, bright light, and serenity of a heaven. Nobody reveals stories of fire and darkness. I’m sure you would come back as a better person after seeing the horrors, but even so I would want to go as well only if I did not have to participate and could only witness it. Finally, in church yesterday the pastor spoke of the devil laughing your whole way to hell. He said that the people there have no choice to do the right thing anymore, but being that we are still alive – we have the choices every day between good/bad, right/wrong. So do the right thing…

    • scoutberger says:

      I think this is an excellent point. While I was writing this I was merely joking about the humorous celebrities that could have ended up in Hell. However, there seems to always be a flaw in the justice system. There is no doubt that it is not perfect and there probably is no way for it to be perfect. That being said, it would be astounding and eye-opening to see who has rightly ended up in Hell. People are convicted of crimes even though they are innocent. Imagine if there was a possible way to finally expose the truth and set the record straight. There are just as many people that get away with murder and crime and it would be just as satisfying to see that they have received punishment while also fulfilling everyone’s curiosity.

  7. Alex Lin says:

    When I first read your title, I thought you were referring to the gang the Hell’s Angels (too much Gangland). Like you, I am not religious so I have to agree with Jordi in that it would be interesting to see if such a place existed. If it did, I think Carson brings up a great point about seeing who is there. It would answer a lot of questions about what is actually right and wrong, at least according to God and Satan. Perhaps a utilitarian-like formula could be created to see if a person will go to hell before they even die.

  8. I would have never thought to visit Hell if I had the opportunity to take one voyage anywhere/to any time. I think you make a good point that we all hope to end up in Heaven at some point, so why not visit a place you will otherwise never be able to see. However, I wonder how you could visit Hell without having died, I mean, I’ve heard of those few accounts of “dying” and being brought back to life, but I think if I were to visit Hell I wouldn’t want to experience it, but perhaps just observe it from a safe distance (I’m thinking like way Scrooge was able to observe the various outcomes of his life from a third-party perspective in the Christmas Carol). Either way, I’d have to wonder if by visiting Heaven or Hell would it impact the way you continue to live your life? And then if so, would it be worth it?

  9. Paul Martin says:

    Awesome post. You could also throw Dante’s Inferno into the mix, and start exploring different levels of hell to see who the real sinners are. A couple other things that came to mind while I was reading the post and the comments were the South Park movie Bigger, Longer, and Uncut (in which Satan is a completely misunderstood character) and also Mount Olympus (Greek mythology). Way to think outside the box Scout. I also would accept an invitation to visit hell. Who knows, maybe it’s like what Billy Joel was getting at and it actually is one big party.

  10. […] overall post goes to Scout for Hell’s Angels.  Good job getting the ball rolling on the […]

  11. […] Hell’s Angels (bizgovsociii.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

