Contemplating the unknowns must be one of the greatest hobbies of generations of human. Indeed, things like the universe have always been mysterious to human. The enormous difference between the tiny world we live in and the vastness of time and space, however, does not stop us from trying to uncover bits of it. One big question that has kept scientists of many generations up at nights to find answer is what exactly exists at the end of the universe. Can we expect the universe to expire at some point in time?

Of course, I’m not an astrophysicist, and they are usually the ones with technical answers to all the big questions that can sometimes annoy us on the odd occasion. Thus, if I could choose, I would travel to the end of the universe to see what’s going on over there. Possibly, if I kept travelling non-stop, to the very depth of space, I would eventually hit some sort of “brick wall” that blocks me from traveling further. Besides, Frank Donald Drake, a famous astrophysicist, has developed the Drake equation used to detect the number of extraterrestrial life in the universe. Apparently, if one among a billion planets has intelligent life, there must be over 6 billion planets with intelligence on them. Therefore, on my way to that “brick wall” end , there is a big chance that I might even com across some random planets with blue creatures and end up staying there a few days.

There are so many possibilities of what we might encounter at the end of the universe. It’d be astonishing if I took all that time to travel and found out that our universe comes around in circle, meaning if we try to travel to the end of it, we will just end up back at the beginning. Our universe is possibly nothing but a huge pile of matters with no clearly defined edge or boundary; or maybe it is just light and energy expanding as modern theories say. Or what if the end of our universe is the beginning of another universe that has its own separate history and law of physics?

Anyway, no matter what exists there, this will no doubt be a fun journey to take on. And do not worry about starving to death when we reach the destination, because Douglas Adams said in his Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy that there is at least one restaurant over there…

6 responses »

  1. Tomas Smaliorius says:

    Reading this made me realize how much I would like to stop and chill near a black hole for a couple of years (if that was ever possible). It’s one of those things that we know or think that we know exists, but as to how it exactly works is still a mystery. I mean if I could define the laws of physics, I would definitely take on the opportunity to travel inside one of those. Think about it, if time and matter did not exist, what would that be like? A black room that extended in every direction possible? Until we come up with something that would allow us to travel near a black hole, we only have our imaginations and the few facts about them to make the final conclusions about these space wonders.

    • Cheryl says:

      I like the idea! Black holes just remind us of how tiny we actually are, and being able to go near them might take us closer to solving most questions about the universe. You might have heard of the idea of time traveling through black holes. They say that apparently we are not the only universe that is present; there are other parallel universes coexisting as well, and the only difference is time. I would take this opportunity just to go forward to the future and see what will become of the Earth in, let say, 100 years or something. As far as time traveling is concerned, I know most people would always be up for it.

  2. Connie says:

    I love this post! I was just talking to my friend before my break about how we never stop and consider the vastness of the universe. What is really out there beyond Lewisburg, beyond the United States, beyond this globe, beyond this galaxy!? Does it keep expanding, or is there a “wall” that we’d eventually hit like you said? Are there other forms of life out there, or perhaps a parallel universe to ours, with people just like us posing the same exact questions! This post actually made me want to reconsider the place and time I’d want to travel to. Now I kind of want to travel to the time when the universe first began, or to when life first began. Is the Big Bang Theory true and credible? What really happened!? Ahh, so many questions and no means (as of now) to answer them!

  3. Jeff Galloway says:

    This is a really cool idea. There are just so many theories about our universe (universes?) that it would be fascinating to find out exactly what’s going on out there. Like Connie said, one reason why this topic is so interesting is because we really do have no means to truly discover what it’s like (at least as far as the public knows). One thing that you mentioned that I’m interested in is what’s it like just outside of our universe? What does “absolute zero” really mean in practice? I think the most interesting part of this to me would be finally getting “out” of the universe (if that’s even possible).

  4. brookeparker16 says:

    I really got into space in the fourth grade after I read the book “Heartlight”. The main character travels through space on a giant butterfly so it was right up my alley at that age. Anyways, although I have grown somewhat out of my obsession with space, I still have that nagging question in my mind, “What else is out there?” I would love to finally be able to know and if possible get to that “brick wall” of space. I would also love to travel to different planets and see if there are ones that posses similar qualities with Earth. Nice post!

  5. Jordi says:

    😎 Did you read all four books in the “trilogy”?

    Of course, travel over such vast distances seems so impossible unless we can get into wormholes or some other shortcut.

    Can we even see or understand other life? On the one hand, you would think that other water-logged planets at our distance form a sun might evolve similar life. But, maybe life can take on other forms? Would we even recognize it as sentient?

Leave a Reply

