Like Tomas, I too enjoy seclusion. Even in today’s technologically obsessed society, I frequently get annoyed with keeping up with emails, texts, etc.  My friends say I’m one of the most frustrating people to get in contact with. My phone is always on vibrate, I frequently forget to return phone calls, I never listen to voicemails, and I only check email once or twice a day. I’m a person who likes to live in the moment. “Out of sight, out of mind” is how my family describes me. Whatever, that’s how I like to live my life. That’s why I would choose to go to the Soggy Dollar Bar during the early 1990’s.

The Soggy Dollar Bar is on a remote beach in White Bay on the Jost Van Dyke Island of the British Virgin Islands. Until 1996, there were only 25 local residents living in the dock-less town. The only way people could visit the bar is to jump off the water taxi during its shuttle across the island and swim to shore, allowing them to pay for their famous “Painkiller” rum drink with the soggy dollars they brought during their swim ashore; hence the name of the bar.

Being a lazy beach bum and a water sport enthusiast, I would love to work at this bar. I would be able to live in quiet and enjoy the perfect weather and open seas of the Caribbean. The only social interaction I would have is with the happy visitors who came just to relax and have a “few” drinks. Who isn’t in a good mood when they are visiting a place like that? That is the kind of atmosphere I would want to live in. Plus I would encounter people from all over the world. I would grow close to the few locals and have a lot of time to myself.

I chose the early 90’s because I would still want relatively easy access to food at the bar’s remote area. By 1996, I believe there were dirt roads built, connecting White Bay to the rest of the commercial parts of the island. This opened White Bay up for more people to live there, diminishing the seclusion I want. Money or reality isn’t an issue in my choice, which is why I might live there for a portion of my life anyway.

One response »

  1. Hannah says:

    If seclusion if what you’re going for, then I would defintiely agree to not go there anytime soon. I’ve been there a few times, and each time its ridden with tourists coming fresh off a booze cruise for even more booze. If I were you, I’d buy a suitable boat to live on, and be docked offshore during the quieter times, and then escape to quieter parts of the island once the tourists started rolling in.

Leave a Reply

