My title probably isn’t the most clever one out there, but I refused to include the phrases “down under” or “the outback”, and someone else had already referred to Bear Grylls and thus, you are left with the generic title of “Australia”.

So I’m not really sure why I am so fascinated with Australia. Regardless of the reason, I am. Ever since an early age, I have been interested in the country. I think it might have to do with the fact that it is actually on the other side of the world. They are 16 hours ahead of our time. I didn’t even know it went that far ahead. Coming into Bucknell, I was pretty steadfast in my desire to study abroad in Australia. Unfortunately, logistically it didn’t work out (and I read an article somewhere about the most poisonous creatures in the world where like 8 of the top 10 were from Australia). But I cannot accept your sympathy as Florence, Italy turned out to be satisfactory a pretty good contingency plan.

Before I went abroad, I sort of had this odd concept of places not called the United States of America. Whenever I would think about some place in Europe, for example, I would only think about the monuments and ancient theaters for which those countries are known. It’s hard to explain, but as much as I was blown away by seeing the duomo in the heart of Florence, I was equally intrigued to see that people were going about their daily life, just as we do here. People had to get to work, the had to take their kids to school, the had to go grocery shopping. It was completely ordinary behavior, and yet it is something I think about all the time.

I think this may be why I’m so interested in Australia. I feel like it would be even more similar to how we do things in America, seeing as they speak the same language as we do (albeit with that funky accent). The big difference though, would be that I would be thousands of miles away from where I call home. I’m deeply interested in different cultures and habits, and even though Australian culture may not be that different from our own, it is still something I would like to experience.

Aside from my odd, hard to explain, interest in watching people to mundane tasks, Australia seems like a pretty sweet place. The whole middle part might be a little bit of a desert, but everywhere else more or less seems like a pretty awesome beach. I wouldn’t mind hanging out around there for a little while. Although they do have like 4 deadly types of jellyfish. I would have to be weary of those; and Vegemite. No way I’m eating Vegemite.

One response »

  1. […] Australia (bizgovsociii.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

