When first reading this week’s prompt I initially thought of a Semester At Sea-type voyage to travel the world, but since it was already mentioned by Sarah earlier on the blog I chose to take a different route and visit December 22, 2012. The other day I saw a commercial for a TV series that documents “doomsday preppers” or people who seriously believe the apocalypse is coming and plan to survive it. I’m amazed how many people sincerely believe the world is going to end on December 21, 2012 and so I would like to travel to the day after (December 22nd) to find out for certain.

People of various beliefs and numerous scholars have all predicted that something enormous will happen on December 21, 2012. I was surprised to learn that it wasn’t just the day the Mayan Calendar ends, and that many other predictions ranging from various astrological alignments to the beginning of a new era all are expected to occur on December 21, 2012. There have been similar predictions about the end of the world in the past (i.e., Y2K, the Rapture), which have all proved to be false, but I feel like the December 21st prediction is much more widely believed and taken more seriously. I personally don’t believe in December 21, 2012, but I would like to travel to that date to put an end to this unnecessary worrying–this prediction has completely taken over the lives of too many people and will likely only get worse as the date approaches. Case & point: there have been reports of people spending tens of millions of dollars on underground shelters!  However, if it does in fact turn out that the world ends on December 21st, I’d also like to know ahead of time so I can live up my last months. I wouldn’t turn into a “doomsday prepper” because, frankly, I don’t know that I’d want to survive an apocalypse and spend the rest of my life in an underground bunker eating frozen food and being stuck with the same 10 people. So, regardless of the outcome, I’d choose to travel to the day after the apocalypse and put an end to this uncertainty once and for all.

7 responses »

  1. Jeff Galloway says:

    I love that you wrote about this, because I came really close to doing the same thing. It’s amazing how much attention this date has gotten, but I guess that’s what society breeds these days. Like you, I don’t believe that anything will happen (at least nothing major), but is interesting to see how many things the Mayans have seemingly gotten right. Either way, jumping ahead to the day after would be a really interesting trip.

  2. Hannah says:

    My question is, what’s the world going to look like “after it ends?” Does that mean that we will start over from scratch and go back to being cavemen essentially, or does it mean that the world is going to completely explode and be non-existent…in which case the million dollar shelters will end up being even more of a waste of money than they already are.

  3. Zach says:

    I think the funniest thing about all these doomsday preppers is that they are wrong. And that’s not just my opinion. Mathematically, they are incorrect. The current Gregorian calendar had not been invented when the Mayans made this prediction. There have been over 500 leap years since the calendar was invented, which means that without the extra day every 4 years, the world should have ended months ago.

  4. Jordi says:

    Why would the believe you? Ever try to have an argument with a die-hard believer about anything?

  5. Jordi says:

    This blog has a lovely list of failed predictions… It is too easy to make fun of apocalypse-believers. The real question is what compels people, organizations and even societies to believe these end times are coming. Why imagine THE END, when lots of nasty ends are very real possibilities…

    For example, real ends come when your Empire collapses (Greek, Roman, Chinese, British, American ((any day now)), you will probably feel like it is Armageddon. If you put yourself in the trenches of 1915, or the Eastern Front in 1943, or Pol Pot’s killing fields, and so on, the end may look very, very close.

  6. Jordi says:

    Ok, finally, I lived through Y2K. It wasn’t a hoax! The computers were going to stop working. Really. Right? 😉

  7. […] Most clever post goes to Claire for Did the Mayans Get it Right? […]

Leave a Reply

