Maybe it’s because I just returned from Cancún where I had the opportunity to go snorkeling for the first time. Maybe it’s because I also met a guy in Cancún who got “Eat shit, Poseidon!” [temporarily] tattooed across his chest in henna. Maybe it’s because I have an immense love for the movie Finding Nemo. Or maybe it’s a combination of all three. Whatever the case may be, the first place that came to my mind for my dream travel destination for this week’s blog was Poseidon Undersea Resorts in Fiji.

Snorkeling in Mexico was kind of a tease. While there was plenty of marine life to see, I could only get one perspective of

Imagine falling asleep to this.

everything — the top. There were so many little seaweed and coral coves that I wanted to explore.  I knew those areas were just teeming with marine life, but I couldn’t get to them! Therefore, I want to pull a Little Mermaid and just live under the sea, even if it’s only for a short period of time.

While Poseidon Undersea Resorts also offer land villas to stay at, why would I waste an opportunity where I can basically live among marine life without the perils of getting eaten by them?! Guests are transported 40 feet underwater to an area with 24 suites and one luxury apartment, adorned with the same accommodations as any top-rated hotel. The suites are surrounded by a 4-inch thick clear acrylic, so you can just peer into the depths of the ocean, taking in all that nature has to offer under the sea. At night, you can even turn on external underwater lights to attract marine life from deeper areas of the reef. Or if you get antsy and want to interact with the marine life during the day, you have a control console with a button that dispenses food for the fish. (No matter what species you are, you can’t turn down free food.) While all of this seems unreal, I think the most amazing part of this whole experience is the chance to admire all the individual coral gardens. As I mentioned in my previous entry on global warming, coral reefs face extinction within the century with the rising global temperatures. So, to be able to see coral reef is becoming a once-in-a-lifetime experience in itself. Despite the wicked battle scars I got, I guess I could say it’s a blessing to have been scratched by a coral reef on my recent snorkeling excursion. Who knows if my great-grandchildren would be able to say the same!

7 responses »

  1. scoutberger says:

    This place looks awesome. I have always been a huge marine ‘geek.’ For about six years straight my birthdays were always at aquariums. I was completely consumed by the world underwater. I loved it so much that I asked for a tropical fish tank for my birthday one year. I imagined those big fish tanks (like they have in the doctor’s offices) filled with fish of every color. I have to admit I was slightly disappointed when I got a regular sized fish tank; however, I was also given three fish. One was a Chinese Fighting Fish, a tiny blue fish, and the other was a little gray tropical fish. Of course I immediately loved the Chinese Fighting Fish. It was glamorous and a neon red color. It was flashy and beautiful and I immediately claimed it to be my favorite. Well, that only lasted about 3 days when it attacked and ate my little blue fish. From there on out we had to keep it in a separate fish bowl.

    Even to this day I still love the idea of the sea. When I was 13 I got SCUBA certified and was simply astounded by what you can see under the water. From the surface the sea merely looks blue. As soon as you dunk your head under water it is a silent oasis full of beautiful creatures.

    The other day I say a news article that showed a picture of the famous football player’s, OchoCinco’s, bed. The bed literally was surrounded by a wall of tropical fish and I couldn’t help but be extremely jealous. I believe that Poseidon Undersea Resorts would be a spectacular experience and i think that anyone that has the opportunity to go snorkeling (no matter where it is) should take the opportunity.

    That being said, to this day I am still petrified of sharks…

  2. Mike says:

    Never heard of this place, but I am so glad you brought it to my attention – add it to my bucket list. I was actually considering choosing Turtle Island of Fiji as my choice because of its isolation and spectacular landscape. Any place in Fiji would be a great choice, but this place definitely takes the cake.

  3. brookeparker16 says:

    If you want to go to a place like this that is a little bit closer and cheaper then you should check at Jules underwater hotel in Key Largo. It may not be as glamorous but it is definitely doable. I also love the ocean. Although I am from Colorado I am now a Florida resident and spend most of my time there. Over break I went snorkeling at the 3rd largest reef in the world and saw a sea turtle, it was awesome! There are also these cool coral formations that you can dive through if you hold your breath! But you are right it is sad how quickly they are dying. My dad said when he used to snorkel where we go only 30 years ago it was an entirely different world down there.

    http://www.jul.com/

  4. Jordi says:

    But, what can be done to save corals? And can these hotels do more? Shouldn’t they?

  5. […] Most unique idea based in reality goes to Connie for Take Me Down Under […]

Leave a Reply

