I want to be there when human beings first make alien contact. Not because I believe that I am the ideal ambassador for humankind, but I want to be present for what will be the most important event in human history. 

I can only speculate about the conditions of the meeting. Will we be the more advanced species? Will they come in peace? Will we even be able to communicate? This infographic provides a basic overview of what you should do in case you are the first human to meet extraterrestrials. It might be a good idea to read the infographic just in case you are stuck with the responsibility of representing humankind. Communicating with an alien that does not speak the same language or may not hear our aid frequency can prove to be a daunting task. Maybe they would speak the universal language of music like in Close Encounters of the Third Kind , so it’s time to start practicing piano again. If they did somehow understand English, I think Bill Nye (The Science Guy) asks the right questions. I hope that I am not alone when first contact is made because,without proof, who would believe me? I would feel like Jodie Foster in Contact.

Aside from the encounter itself, I want to see that change of perspective it would bring to our world. It would make all of our global, cultural, and individual differences across all human history seem so petty.

“Think of the rivers of blood spilled by all those generals and emperors, so that in glory and triumph, they could become the momentar masters of a fraction of a dot.” -Carl Sagan

Luckily this post has made me consider what I would say to our new neighbors, because I was originally planning on asking which shows they had picked up .

5 responses »

  1. idalbello says:

    I agree with Rob as if such event does occur it could be the biggest moment in history. I for one would not want to be the first person aliens tried to communicate with as it would be terribly difficult. Not only would it be hard to communicate but who says that they will have similar physiology to us? For all we know they might not hear the same decibels as us or even make anything similar in sounds as us. Or they could speak telepathically.Who knows what other life is like outside our own world. With that being said I think the infographic does a pretty fair job at describing what a person should do when they are encountered by a extraterrestrial.

  2. idalbello says:

    This also made me ponder what if we are the MOST advanced civilization in the universe? If we ever do discover a planet with life then who will get to represent mankind? What individuals would we send to display our knowledge and culture?

    • robrooke says:

      If we are the most advanced civilization in the universe, then I am concerned about the future of the universe. Currently NASA only gets 0.48% of the federal budget, so I don’t think our space program will progress as quickly as it could. A large point to remember is that we funded NASA so much during the space race because we were at war. The success of our space program was a national concern, but lately people have lost interest. We need to reignite the spark that we used to have, as Neil deGrase Tyson said, “How much would you pay for the universe?” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CbIZU8cQWXc

  3. Zach says:

    It really is interesting to think about something like this. The fact that the universe is so big really allows our minds to wander as we think about extraterrestrial life. I mean NASA goes crazy when they discover water, so the idea of meeting actual aliens would be bigger than Tebow. I’m really interested in the possible technology. Would that civilization have more advanced tools than we have? Have they been around for longer than humans? The questions really are endless.

  4. […] Wildest experience goes to Rob for We Are Not Alone […]

Leave a Reply

