For my Blog Post this week I watched a commencement video of Steve Jobs.  The reason I picked this video off of TED.com was because of the phenomena that Steve Job was and still is.  It’s Halloween?  People dress up as Steve Jobs.  Write a paper about someone who has inspired you?  Write about Steve Jobs.  

I am in no way criticizing Steve Jobs and the fad that he is.  He is a brilliant man.  However, I didn’t realize just how well-spoken and inspiring he was until I listened to his speech.  What made chuckle in his speech was how he could be deemed a “failure” in school.  The classes he took would be considered a joke at Bucknell and he didn’t even make through his college career.  When you hear the term college drop out our automatic instinct is to think that the person is a failure and a loser.  Clearly Steve Jobs proves us wrong.  Hearing Steve Jobs’ story made me think in a way I hadn’t before.  Every day we wake up, go to classes, do homework, eat in between, go out at night, maybe watch some TV, and go to bed.  It certainly isn’t a bad lifestyle.  However, sometimes I forget that not everyone fits this mold…and that’s ok.  My life and most of students’ lives at Bucknell are fairly mapped out.  I would never dream of the day where it would be acceptable to drop out of school.  We sit in classrooms for at least 12 hours a day and do at least double that in homework and studying.  There is no doubt I have received a wonderful education by going to Bucknell and I wouldn’t change it for the world.  Steve Jobs plants that seed of doubt that makes you wonder if you are destined for a greater purpose.

Steve Jobs gives us that hope that we can do more against the odds.  Those of us graduating in May are lucky to know that we have received a wonderful education that will get us far in life.  The people in the world that don’t receive a college education aren’t necessarily left behind.  Steve Jobs has proved this to us.  He has been fired from Apple and is considered a college drop out yet he is one of the most well-known men in America.  For most of my life I have followed a set routine and have played things safe and followed the rules.  This video gave me inspiration to break out of my normal boundaries.  It has encouraged to try and attempt to do something new because we all have the ability to bounce back and come on top.

7 responses »

  1. Sarah says:

    Steve Job’s commencement speech was fantastic. I hope whoever we have speaking for commencement will be just as engaging and inspiring. I like how his speech blends his personal experiences with 3 simple life lessons. The messages he gives are so simple, concise and I feel ring very true. I totally agree with Jobs that you can’t try and connect the dots going forward. Things don’t always made sense when you are in the moment but looking back on past events I truly believe that everything happens for a reason.

    Steve Jobs was a remarkable man and I agree with you Scout, he is living proof that education is not everything. Everyone will take different paths through life and everyone at some point in their lives will be knocked down. The difference between people is how they react to tough situations. Some people will chose to stay down and not have the strength or ability to get back on their feet while others will fight to get back on top.

  2. brookeparker16 says:

    Steve Jobs amplifies what Adora was talking about in the Ted talk I listened to. He is in no way hampered down by limitations of passed failures. Instead his dreams got bigger and bigger with age. His creativity is similar to a child’s, boundless. Only with his dreams and creativity would Apple be able to create such innovative products such as the iPone and iPad. Not only does Steve Jobs show us how to work but he also shows us how to live. He was quoted saying, “Remembering that you are going to die is the best way I know to avoid the trap of thinking you have something to lose. You are already naked. There is no reason not to follow your heart”. Similar to a child he lives without a fear of losing and as cliche as this sounds, he lives each day to the fullest. Steve Jobs is a truly the inventor of out time.

  3. Cheryl says:

    Steve Jobs is not just an icon, but also a great source of inspirations. The extent of his influence is so great to the point that after seeing his speech, we have to ask ourselves how we would do without his products, his creativity and his talents. Just look at millions of people willing to wait in huge lines just to get their hands to Apple’s latest releases, and we’ll know how influential Steve Jobs is. The messages in his speech are so simple – we never actually take time and think about them; yet they are so meaningful that once we listen to them, we will keep remembering. Overcoming the norms is easy to say, but extremely hard to do. Just like you, I can’t imagine myself dropping out of school. Would I be able to achieve something without education? Steve Jobs would probably say something along the line of “you will never know unless you try”. After his death, I believe he’ll continue to be a great icon for a long time

  4. Jim says:

    I thought it was interesting how you talked about Steve Jobs being considered a failure in school. It seems to me that people who typically excel in school are those people who have figured out the system and how to best succeed in it. I wonder though if maybe the people who are most successful in life, or at least have the greatest effect on our world are people who have an entirely different worldview from the rest of society and are therefore either not motivated or equipped to excel upon the standards we have designed.

    • scoutberger says:

      That’s sort of what I was thinking Jim. Albert Einstein was failed many of his classes and he is known to be the most brilliant man in the world. Sometimes the smartest and most admirable people are the ones that strayed off the normal path of life and have done their own thing. It makes you wonder whether or not an education is as important as people claim. I’m not saying that high school drop outs are some of the smartest people in the world. I feel like you need a strong education up until a certain age. After that maybe education holds you back. I have my life all mapped out for me and I have for a long time. If I didn’t have the opportunity to go to such a wonderful college I sometimes wonder where I would have ended up. Would I be a lazy failure or would my lack of education motivate me to try even harder to succeed in life.

  5. Zach says:

    What an interesting guy. I actually read his biography. It was a really good read. Although it doesn’t paint him as the nicest guy, one thing that is certain is that he had passion. He loved what he did. I think that’s the most important thing that anyone can take away from his story. It’s hard to do something to your full potential of your heart isn’t there. Another thing I admire about him is his entrepreneurial skill. Keep in mind this man founded not only Apple, but also Pixar.

  6. Claire McCardell says:

    I completely agree with you about the stigmas attached to “college dropout,” it seems that in this day and age you need a college degree (at the very minimum) to be considered for just about any career path. The odds are definitely stacked against you to try to find a good job as a college dropout, however, Steve Jobs is a perfect example that it’s not impossible. College isn’t for everyone, and just because you don’t fit that mold shouldn’t be reason to be judged by society–one of my good friends from high school went to American, and dropped out after her first year because it wasn’t for her. She was always a decent student in high school, and I remember a lot of people, including her parents, were very disappointed in her decision and thought she partied too hard or just wasn’t trying hard enough. However, after she took some time off, she found her passion was for cooking, and after working in a local restaurant for a bit, she got accepted into the Culinary Institute of America (which is one of the nation’s top culinary schools) and now works for Gramercy Tavern (a restaurant in New York City, that I was unfamiliar with, but is apparently one of the best restaurants in the city, with a 3-month waiting list for reservations). My friend, like Steve Jobs, didn’t fit the “college mold” and realized that getting a degree would be a waste of time and money. They weren’t bad students or lazy or partiers, although I’m sure that’s how many perceived them as “college dropouts,” but they were able to find success in other areas and have shown they are just as hardworking, if not more, than the rest of us.

Leave a Reply

