This topic is very fitting to me considering I watched my first TED video only about a week ago. And trust me, it did not disappoint. The video I watched was the 2005 Stanford commencement speech by Steve Jobs. Most people have either heard about or actually seen the video themselves. The video did not disappoint. Steve Jobs laid-out a simple, yet inspiring story. As I approach senior year, hopefully I will remember some great points he brings up.

Jobs tells three stories in his speech.

The first story is about how connected the dots. Jobs dropped out of college which allowed him to take only the classes that interested him – no requirements. One of those classes was Calligraphy. If Steve jobs had never dropped out, then the  multi-font feature that he would implement in the Macintosh computer would never had happened. The point to take away is that you have to “trust that the dots would connect.” He states that it is much easier to connect the dots in hindsight so you just have to believe that everything will work out.

The second story is about how he got fired from Apple. During this period, Jobs was able to refresh his mind and remember that he was doing what he loved. During that period, he started two companies: Next and Pixar. Next ended up being bought by Apple so Jobs returned to the company that he got fired from. The point he emphasizes is “to do what you love.” If you haven’t found it yet, keep looking.

The third story is about living each day like it is your last. Jobs states that he starts off each day looking in the mirror and asking himself: “If today were the last day of my life, would I want to do what i am about to do today?” He continues: “And if the answer is no for too many days in a row, I know I need to change something.”

Now maybe I haven’t quite found what I love to do or maybe I haven’t bought into Steve Jobs’ system yet but I feel like if I asked myself that question everyday, I would stop going to classes. Steve Jobs knew what he liked early on but what about the people that don’t find that until later on in life?

Overall, Steve Jobs’ speech was inspiring and motivational. Hopefully I can find what I love to do soon.

4 responses »

  1. scoutberger says:

    Alex, I watched the same video for the blog assignment. I thought it was an inspirational speech that everyone could learn from. While watching this video I wondered if Steve Jobs would be as popular as he is now if he were still alive? I hope the answer would be yes. I think he is a role model to look up to. He shows us that humans are flawed but humans also have the ability to beat the odds and do something extraordinary.

    Do you guys think that Steve Jobs would be as popular as he is now if he were still alive?

  2. Mike says:

    I think he would be more popular if he were alive. People now are giving him the credit because he was the original innovator and has been the face of Apple and all their products over the years. His death made more people aware of his achievements, but I think that will eventually die out and people will start creditting all the developers behind the scenes who actual create the products.

  3. […] TED: Steve Jobs (bizgovsociii.wordpress.com) […]

  4. Alex Lin says:

    Like Mike said, I think Steve Jobs would be more popular if he were still alive today. Steve Jobs was the leader of the largest company in America (based on market cap). He was an innovator that changed the electronics industry completely. Who knows what kind of other products Apple would/will come out with . With Jobs at the helm of Apple, I think he would have definitely gained more popularity.

Leave a Reply

