Image

I can say, with almost 100% certainty, that you are tying your shoes wrong.  Seriously.  

I’ve watched a lot of Ted Talks.  I think they are great; especially when I have homework to do.  I have come across some really interesting topics that I would have otherwise never known about.  The database of subjects is so vast, it’s almost impossible to find a topic that hasn’t been covered in one way or another.  Illusions?  Yup.  String Theory?  Of Course.  Houses made of completley reclaimed materials?  You bet.  I could keep going, but I think you get the picture.  With such a wide library from which to choose, I thought I would pick something really important.  This video is probably one of the shortest on the site, clocking in at under 3 minutes, but I promise you it has the ability to fundamentally change something that you do every day.  It turns out, you are tying your shoes wrong.  At least, that’s what Terry Moore says.

Terry got a pair of shoes that he really liked.  The problem was that they had those annoying round laces, and he couldn’t keep them tied.  So he went back to the shoe store and told the salesperson.  The shoes salesman took one look and said “oh, your tying them wrong”.  He showed Terry how to tie them correctly, and Terry thought that it was so important, he had to tell TED about it.

What he found out was that there are two forms of the standard shoe knot; a strong version and a weak version.  Most people are taught to tie their shoes using the weak version and thus, our shoes come unties a lot more than is necessary.  I highly recommend watching the video.  It is a short clip, and it really does make a difference.

Videos like this are what I like most about TED.  The speakers some how manage to convert things that would ordinarily be mundane, into truly fascinating lectures.  Terry teaches us something new about an activity that all of us have been doing since we were 5.  It’s the little things.

5 responses »

  1. Kate says:

    How fascinating! Ever since the first grade, I thought that I was tying my shoes properly (I did always make fun of my younger brother for tying his shoes “the bunny ears” way), but now it makes sense as to why my shoe laces come undone during certain workouts. I definitely learned something new today!

  2. Connie says:

    I have nothing else to add, except that this is actually great! TED always features great talks — who knew it could be about something like tying your shoes. Bravo!

  3. Sarah says:

    Wow I had no idea! My shoe laces always line up the wrong way and yes they do come undone fairly easily. This is a very useful piece of knowledge. I had never heard of TED talks before this blog assignment but now I think I will check the website regularly to see what other new and exciting videos are posted. Who knows what other daily habits I am actually doing completely wrong? It is funny that everyone has been taught the weak way and that we have become so set on this way even though it is less efficient. Clearly a show tying revolution needs to sweep the world and everyone should be taught the correct way. I think governments should send out advisory pamphlets to their citizens explaining this new revolution. (not actually serious about that though it would be amusing.)

  4. Cheryl says:

    Wow this is amazing! I like what he says at the end as well: Sometimes, a small advantage someplace in life can yield tremendous results someplace else. Maybe we just tend to ignore little things like this in life, without knowing that they can be so significant. I do think it’s much more than just a lesson of tying shoelaces though. It sounds like a great message about being flexible, open-minded and wiling to leave the norms in order to make our life better!

  5. Jordi says:

    Who is he? I recognize him. Office Space?

    When I climbed, I loved to tie and untie knots. Very therapeutic…

Leave a Reply

