ImageIn the new release section I found Mockingjay or the third installment of the HUNGER GAMES!!!! I had already read this book so I cheated and thought it would make this weeks blog easier. Plus if you haven’t read it, it is loaded with lots of ethical and political questions. If you guys don’t know what the Hunger Games are about get out of the hole you have been living in and join society. I’m not saying you have to read it because in my opinion it is poorly written and predictable; however you would have to go out of your way to not know the basic plot. For those of you who are too far into the Bucknell bubble, I will briefly explain the overall plot. There are 12 districts and every year 2 tributes from each district (a male and female under the age of 18) are chosen to battle to death until only 1 survives. Talk about you morbid kids novel. Anyways SPOILER ALERT the main character Katniss and her sweet lover Peeta (both from district 12) manage to foil the capital and they are both crowned victors. Now we jump to book three where Katniss is starting to revolt against the capital with her other, more bad ass lover, Gale or more importantly, Liam Hemsworth. In an attempt to subdue the firery Katniss, Capital has captured Peeta! I won’t ruin the ending of this novel in case you are actually unsure if Katniss succeeds or not and I won’t reveal which lover Katniss chooses in the end. Which I have to confess before I saw the movie I was on team Peeta but after seeing Liam I’ve converted to team Gale.

Now in this savage love triangle of a book you might wonder how does this relate to Business Government and Society. This book is riddled with ethical dilemmas like how Katniss initially pretends to be in love with Peeta to get sponsors to send her stuff in the arena. That is similar to a business faking their mission or even their reason for “going green” just to make a profit. Do the ends justify the means? In the third book the capital claims that they use the hunger games in order to control the districts. They claim that when the districts revolt more die and suffer than in the hunger games. Some say they could claim they are using utilitarian ethics. However I think the slaughter of innocent children for fun can never really be “ethical”. These books bring up many ethical questions but in the end they leave you pessimistic and dubious to everyone else’s motives.

8 responses »

  1. Mike says:

    Is it my computer, or is part of the left side of the words cut off?

  2. Marko says:

    Mike I think it’s just your computer. Left side of the words are fine. Anyways, last week I was forced to go and see the hunger games. I didn’t read the book but I expected the movie to be chick-flick / kids novel. The movie wasn’t that bad although it was very predictable. The one part I especially liked is the one when the president Snow talks about hope. He said that small amount of hope can be very powerful tool. “Hope. It is the only thing stronger than fear. A little hope is effective, alot of hope is dangerous. This fact is fine, as long as it’s contained.” You can extend this thought on many things in our society. It’s the same reason why people are gambling or playing lottery – because they have small hope they might actually win. Why people rob banks – because they have the small hope they will get a way with it, etc.

    • Jordi says:

      So, is someone like Snow ( or something) trying to contain the hope so there is not too much?

      • scoutberger says:

        I think Snow is one of the most interesting characters in The Hunger Games. You are dead on when you said that he is trying to contain hope so there isn’t too much of it. He claims the only reason why there is a winner in The Hunger Games is so that there is something for the districts to hope for. Without a winner the children would simply be slaughtered.

        What I thought was really cool while reading these books was the fact that there is a slim chance something like this could evolve in America. For my blog I was reading The Help and in it they are astonished by this new invention….the remote control. We have no idea what is going to become of our society in the next hundred years. Years ago people would have laughed at the thought of blacks and whites going to school together…it would have seemed absurd. Well right now it seems absurd to take a 24 children and put them in an arena to fight to the death. But who knows what it will be like 50, 60, 70 years from now? A fight to the death could be considered the norm in the future.

  3. Jordi says:

    Brooke, that is pretty lame. You already read the book. You could have looked for The Hunger Games and Philosophy

    Or the controversy over Hunger Games and the earlier Japanese novel Battle Royale.

    • Marc says:

      I actually saw the Japanese movie adaptation of Battle Royale when I was in high school with my sister. When I was reading the Hunger Games trilogy, I definitely thought that there was a similarity between the concepts. There was also a movie a couple years back called the Condemned that was similar, but had prisoners fighting to the death with the last standing getting their freedom instead of children like the first too, so I guess the premise isn’t all that uncommon. Anyway, from what I remember, Battle Royale was much more brutal and incredibly entertaining to watch. It’s a book that I want to read sometime soon. I’m not sure if I completely buy into Collins ripping off Battle Royale, but both were entertaining movies and I assume are entertaining books as well.

      • Jordi says:

        I think there is a historical Greek example of some city requiring the vanquished to offer up their children to the victor. They both borrowed from that. But it does underscore how ideas flow like water.

        I am reading the book now. What strikes me is how the kids seem to be struggling with the idea that they can’t come together and “find a solution.” This struck me as perhaps a “Japanese” reaction. The Hunger Games kids don’t think about the whole group coming together. They strike out on their own, for the most part.

  4. […] award – Scout (The Help) Slacker but funny writing style / relates to class — Brooke (The Hunger Games); had already read Most enlightening — Marc H. Best find […]

Leave a Reply

