Did you eat out at least once this weekend, or spend a decent amount of time getting drinks at a bar?  Chances are, the person waiting on you worked very hard for hours standing on his feet for a tiny wage.  Hopefully you gave them a generous tip.  Although as college students we don’t have very much money ourselves, I always think it’s so important to recognize that other people, even those much older than us and not in college, have far worst financial struggles than we do. Sometimes although I’d love to keep the few extra dollars cash in my wallet, I know it’ll have a much more positive impact for the person who painted my nails than it will for me.

 

If every customer gave a waitress a 20% tip one day, she might be able to buy her child the toy he really wants for his birthday, as supposed to the way less cool version.  Or even more importantly, she might be able to feed her child a more nutritious meal than Burger King, which may have been the only option the day before when she received fewer tips.  It’s always ethically debatable when you’re in a situation where you technically should give someone money for something they did, but you are not completely obligated.  If someone does an awful job or is rude, then he probably does not deserve a tip.  But for the most part when people are doing their jobs to the best of their ability, I really think the customers should put themselves in the servers’ shoes and think about what a difficult job they have.  Whenever people are able, I think it’s so important to fully acknowledge those in the service industry who really depend on gratuities to make ends meet and make their lives a little easier with a generous tip.

6 responses »

  1. Zach says:

    I’m all for leaving a good tip. I think it sort of sucks that waiters have to rely on tips to make a decent wage. Having said that, in my opinion a tip is something that should be given for good service. It’s a reward to a person for making an experience as pleasurable as possible. If I have a nasty waiter, even one that is in a bad mood for a legitimate reason, I can’t really justify going that person a generous tip. They failed to meet the neccesary criteria for me to part with my hard-earned money

  2. Hannah says:

    I’m completely with you on this (growing up as a waitress myself) and think that if you are at a sit down restaurant, you should be tipped generously for your service. I always tip at least 20% no matter where I go, even if I wasn’t satisfied with the food or service. I still think it’s weird that the wait staff is somehow allowed to be paid below the hourly minimum wage (I made around $4.00 an hour plus tips), but it is something that we can’t fight, so we depend on our tips to survive and make a living! What not everyone realizes is that your server doesn’t even keep the full 20%. You have to tip out the busser, the bartender, the host, etc. For instance I would be required to tip out at least 20% of my total tips at night, so I am taking home even less than what was initially given to me. I just think that people should take into consideration that when you eat at a restaurant, your server makes essentially all of their money based on your tips.

  3. Completely agree. Nothing irritates me more than eating out with people, getting our respective checks, and seeing the other person not tip. I usually end up leaving a little extra when it happens. I had a friend in high school who literally never left one tip through our graduation. It drove me up a wall. I do however believe that if service is poor that should be reflected in the tip. Tips should be earned.

  4. Lindsay S. says:

    Yes I agree that tips should be earned. I think that’s an interesting point that you brought up Hannah about how waiters and waitresses don’t even have the luxury of keeping the full tip that they are given. I have never been a waitress my self and was not aware of that. I did know that servers are paid far below minimum wage and greatly depend on their tips to get by. I think the fact that they have to share that tip with the rest of the wait staff definitely adds another reason why at least a 20% tip should always be given, assuming the service was acceptable. That’s why my Mom has always told me it’s nice to tip breakfast waiters/waitresses even a little extra because items on the breakfast menu are normally less expensive than lunch or dinner, which often involve multiple courses and/or pricier entrees, so being a breakfast server leads to getting really small tips and having an even harder time making a living.

  5. Claire McCardell says:

    It’s an obscure approach to changing the world, but the more I think about it, the more I agree that if everyone tipped 20% (at least!) it could make substantial improvements. I don’t even necessarily think it’s the tip itself, but the act of being thankful and gracious. One of my biggest pet peeves is seeing someone be rude to a waiter or salesperson who didn’t deserve it. It seems like there’s been an increasing feeling of entitlement among customers for no reason at all, which leads to a feeling of superiority. I think if we all took a minute to appreciate those who assist us and acknowledge that they’re working hard by being gracious and leaving a generous tip, the world would undoubtedly be a better place.

Leave a Reply

