My proposal is to have every human read for at least one hour a day.  Assigned reading would not count, it would have to be reading of your choice and for pleasure.  

I think requiring people to read one hour every day could tackle many of the issues with the world today.  Often times people say that they are too busy to read; however, I feel that isn’t necessarily the case.  We are too distracted by the internet, twitter, tediously memorizing notes for exams and so much more.  If we took an hour each day to immerse ourselves in a book not only do I believe that people would be happier and more joyful, but people would be better educated.  Maybe one day you would read The New York Times for an hour and better educate yourself about our current economic situation.  Perhaps you would take time to read The Hunger Games and think about would life could end up like in a post apocalyptic wold.

In my children’s literature class I learned the utmost importance of reading.  A parent once asked a doctor when they should start reading to their child.  The doctor responded by asking when did you start talking to your child.  Confused, the parent answered that they started happily talking to their child the day they were born.  The doctor then responded that there is no difference between speaking sweet loving words to your newborn child than it is to read to them and all parents should start reading to their children at birth.  It greatly develops a child’s reading and writing skills.  So if people preach that it is of the utmost importance to read to children and have them read for themselves, why don’t we do the same?  The more we read the better insight we have as to the way the world works.  The more we read the more answers we could have to the fix the world’s problems.  If we read for one hour a day we are giving ourselves an hour of pure joy and that in itself can better the world.

6 responses »

  1. Kate says:

    I really like this idea Scout. Rather than watching an hour of TV or two before bed, people could ready the newspaper or a book. While I am in the Bucknell bubble, I am ashamed to admit that I am completely oblivious to the outside world (thank goodness for the Bucknellian’s section “bursting the Bucknell bubble”).

    Personally, I would rather read the actual book or newspaper than on my smartphone or computer. After staring at electronic screens hours upon hours each day, I think it’s a nice break to actually hold something in my hand and read the physical pages. Reading is also a great way to relax, especially for those people who have a hard time falling asleep.

  2. brookeparker16 says:

    I am also one of those people who read a lot and when I tell people at Bucknell that I just finished another book, I commonly get, “How do you have the time?” It frustrates me to no end. I want to be like you are in college! All you have is time! Especially because I know how much TV my friends watch. Their “lack” of time is such a cop out. What I will say though, is I have always been a big reader but I have also always been a horrible writer. But I think for the most part reading can only improve your vocabulary and writing skills.

  3. Alex Lin says:

    As one of the people that uses the “I don’t have enough time” excuse when it comes to reading, I think this rule would be perfect. I really do enjoy reading but for some reason, I prioritize it as one of the last things on my to-do list. As Brooke pointed out, people often spend a lot of time doing other things such as watching TV and then wonder where their time went. If there was a mandatory rule in place, that would definitely make me read more. Do you follow this rule Scout?

    • scoutberger says:

      I certainly should follow that rule better! This semester I have made it a point of trying to read more but in all honesty I am just as guilty as everyone else of getting distracted by the internet and my phone. One I start a book I can’t put it down and I will finish it in a matter of days. My issue is the time period in between books. I should make this a bigger priority. I feel that reading is very underrated and I’ve taken two classes this semester (education psychology and children’s literature) which have taught how important it is to read. At Bucknell our professors have us read articles and texts for classes and I wonder if this deters people from reading during their free time. I think people forget how enjoyable it can be to read.

  4. Jordi says:

    Some towns have had a book of the month or year to encourage reading…

    For example, One City, One Book

Leave a Reply

