Change the world in a 60 second pitch… that seems like a pretty tough task. I checked out last year’s posts to get a little inspiration about this prompt. After browsing a couple of posts, I found myself drawn to Tom’s post from last year. It was pretty out there, but it was funny, to the point, and let’s be honest, who doesn’t think his proposal would be awesome. Changing the world is hard, so why don’t we have a little fun? That’s why my proposal isn’t so much a solution to the world’s problems, but a small change that I believe would make the world a better place. Bob Barker’s always been a big advocate to control the pet population. However, I’m saying that, sorry Bob, the price is wrong (I’ve cleaned up the actual quote for the sake of the blog). We need to let our furry friends run free.

Now I know this isn’t going to solve the world’s big problems like global warming or debt or unemployment. But I believe that having typically domesticated cats and dogs running around in their natural state will certainly make the world a lot happier. It’s not a huge secret that dogs put people in a better state. There have been a lot of reports about how dogs are the key to happiness and even Bucknell usually bring in therapy dogs around finals to keep students from cracking. So why are we trying to control the pet population? With wars and revolts running rampant around the world, shouldn’t we also let dogs run free too? Free range dogs would solve a lot reasons why people might not keep one as a pet. First, dogs are expensive. They’re also a lot of responsibility. Even if you don’t want to own a dog, some people would say you could get the same solution from petting other people dogs. But isn’t going up to a random stranger to pet their property a little creepy? That’s why free range dogs are awesome. They cost nothing, you have no responsibility, and you don’t have to worry about freaking out complete strangers.

Like I said, solving the world’s problems is hard. Why don’t we just take baby steps and make it just a little better at first. I mean, the world is supposed to end in December, so let’s just stay happy in the mean time. And at the very least, how are you going to say no to a face like this?

2 responses »

  1. You’re in luck. This is already happening in Lewisburg! Throughout the day and every evening I am greeted as I walk from my garage to my house by one of a dozen cats in my garage or yard. Unfortunately, they don’t quite have the same effect as therapy dogs.

  2. Marc says:

    Well maybe I can add a little amendment to my post to help with your problem and many others as well. We could hire people to be in charge of “Non-Domesticated Animal Sanitation” meaning they basically would minimize (put down) the pet population that isn’t as pleasing as others. Or if people think that’s a little inhumane, people or agencies could be in charge of keeping these animals disease-free. Free range pets could not only help morale, but the economy by lowering unemployment.

Leave a Reply

